RCA Announces 2016 Award Recipients
Wednesday, September 07, 2016 | Comments

The Radio Club of America (RCA) announced its 2016 award recipients. The recipients will be honored at the RCA 107th annual banquet 18 November in New York City.

Morgan E. O'Brien will receive the Armstrong Medal for outstanding achievements and lasting contributions to the radio arts and sciences and wireless communications. William T. Murphy will receive the Sarnoff Citation for exceptional contributions of a technical or non-technical nature to the advancement of electronic communications.

The Lifetime Achievement Award will go to Dr. Joseph H. Taylor, recognizing his significant achievements and a major body of work accomplished over a lifetime that has advanced the art and science of radio and wireless technology. The Henri Busignies Memorial Award will go to Dr. Mischa Schwartz for achievements in the field of communications equipment and contributions to the advancement of electronics for the benefit of humanity.

Dan Clark will receive the Fred M. Link Award for notable achievements in LMR communications. Stanley Reubenstein will be awarded the Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award, recognizing unique contributions to the field of amateur radio.

The Edgar F. Johnson Pioneer Award will be given to John S. Oblak, recognizing noteworthy contributions to the success of RCA or to the radio industry. The Ralph Batcher Memorial Award will go to Marc F. Ellis, for significant work in preserving the history of radio and electronic communications.

Robert A. Rude will receive the Frank A. Gunther Award for his dedication to the field of military communications. Mercy S. Contreras will be awarded the Vivian A. Carr Award, recognizing outstanding achievements by a woman in the wireless industry.

2016 fellows include Robert J. Hobday, James H. Kreuzer, Robert E. LaRose, W. Brent Lee, Andrew C. Maxymillian, Stephanie McCall, Thomas L. Morrow, Edward F. O'Connor, Walton L. Stinson and Sandra J. Wendelken.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Site Navigation