Rosenworcel, Carr Confirmed as FCC Commissioners
Friday, August 04, 2017 | Comments

The Senate confirmed two FCC commissioners Aug. 3, which means the commission is at full staff again with three Republicans and two Democrats.

Jessica Rosenworcel, whose term as an FCC commissioner ended Dec. 31, 2016, was confirmed to fill the post again. In addition, Brendan Carr was confirmed as an FCC commissioner for a term that expires June 30, 2018.

Senate Republicans had attempted to confirm Carr for two terms, but Senate Democrats resisted, and Carr will serve just 1.5 years before confirmation for another term is required.

Rosenworcel and Carr join Republicans Ajit Pai, FCC chairman, and Michael O’Rielly and Democrat Mignon Clyburn on the commission.

“I congratulate Brendan and Jessica on their confirmations,” Pai said. “As I know from working with each of them for years, they have distinguished records of public service and will be valuable assets to the FCC in the years to come. Their experience at the FCC makes them particularly well suited to hit the ground running. I’m pleased that the FCC will once again be at full strength and look forward to collaborating to close the digital divide, promote innovation, protect consumers and improve the agency’s operations.”

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Magazines in Print

May 2019

5 - 10
APCO Western Regional Conference 2019
Scottsdale, Arizona

June 2019

14 - 19
NENA Conference and Expo
Orlando, Florida

More Events >

Site Navigation