RCA Announces 2017 Award Recipients
Thursday, November 16, 2017 | Comments

The Radio Club of America (RCA) announced its 2017 award winners, which will be honored at its annual banquet in Pittsburgh.

Ulrich Rohde, Ph.D., was awarded RCA’s Lifetime Achievement Award for significant achievements and a major body of work accomplished over a lifetime. He is an owner of several companies in the U.S. and a partner in the global company Rohde & Schwarz, and he holds many patents.

The Armstrong Medal went to Eli Brookner, Ph.D., for outstanding achievements and lasting contributions to the radio arts and sciences and wireless communications. Brookner is the principal engineering fellow (retired) with Raytheon Integrated Defense Systems and is a global radar authority.

James Breakall, Ph.D., was awarded the Sarnoff Citation for exceptional contributions of a technical or nontechnical nature to the advancement of electronic communications. The Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award went to Michael Kalter for unique contributions to the field of amateur radio. The Ralph Batcher Memorial Award went to Thomas F. Peterson Jr. for significant work in preserving the history of radio and electronic communications.

Mary Ann Weitnauer, Ph.D., was awarded the Vivian A. Carr Award for outstanding achievements by a woman in the wireless industry. The Jack Poppele Award went to Robert Hobday for outstanding achievements and long-term contributions to the field of radio broadcasting.

The Fred M. Link Award went to Peter J. Madsen for notable achievements in LMR communications. Madsen was a 20-year veteran of the New York/ New Jersey Port Authority Radio Division. His responsibilities included maintaining an EDACS simulcast trunked 800 MHz system that included coverage in agency tunnels and buildings that employed bidirectional amplifiers.

The RCA Special Services Award went to Charles Kirmuss, and the National Public Safety Telecommunications Council (NPSTC) Richard Demello Award went to Kevin McGinnis for his many contributions to national public-safety and homeland security.

Carissa Ferguson won the RCA Young Achiever Award and will present on robots and radios at the RCA Technical Symposium.

The RCA 2017 fellows include David P. Bart, Nathan Cohen, Brent Finster, Cheryl J. Greathouse, Sean E. Johnson, James M. Roden, Bruce Roloson and Nancy Smith.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Site Navigation