RCA Announces 2018 Award Recipients, Fellows
Friday, September 28, 2018 | Comments

The Radio Club of America (RCA) announced its 2018 award recipients and fellows who will be celebrated at RCA’s 109th Banquet and Awards Nov. 17 in New York City at the Westin New York Times Square.

Dr. Theodore ‘Ted’ Rappaport, N9NB, will be awarded the Armstrong Medal for outstanding achievements and lasting contributions to the radio arts and sciences and wireless communications. The Lee de Forest Award will go to Dr. Nathan ‘Chip’ Cohen, W1YW, for significant contributions to the advancement of radio communications.

Joseph Yuman will receive the Fred M. Link Award for notable achievements in LMR communications. The Edgar F. Johnson Pioneer Citation will be awarded to Marc Allen, W6PC, in recognition of noteworthy contributions to the success of RCA or the radio industry. June Poppele will receive the Ralph Batcher Memorial Award for significant work in preserving the history of radio and electronic communications.

The RCA Special Recognition Award will be awarded to Harlin R. McEwen in recognition of dedicated service to the RCA. Robin Sorley will receive the RCA Patron Award in recognition of dedicated service to the Radio Club of America. Carroll Hollingsworth will receive the RCA Presidents Award for service and dedication to RCA.

The U.S. Navy Capt. George P. McGinnis Memorial Award will be awarded to James S. Walters in recognition of service and dedication to the advancement and preservation of U.S. Navy cryptology. Sue Swenson will receive the DeMello Award for demonstrating the highest level of personal and professional conduct and performance in public-safety communications.

The 2018 RCA Fellows include Steven Ahmed, K2MOT; Martha Carter, N4GJA; Bryan Casciano; Charles Kirmuss, W0CBK; and Patti Ryg.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Magazines in Print

May 2019

1 - 2
Comms Connect
Auckland, New Zealand

5 - 10
APCO Western Regional Conference 2019
Scottsdale, Arizona

More Events >

Site Navigation