FCC Commissioner Calls Out 5 States for Continued 9-1-1 Fee Diversion
Friday, November 30, 2018 | Comments

FCC Commissioner Mike O’Rielly offered an update on states that have diverted 9-1-1 fees for other uses.

Five states and one territory — New Jersey, Rhode Island, New York, Missouri, Montana, and Guam — have not yet provided the FCC with their 2016 state data or ended their practice of stealing 9-1-1 fees for their own discretionary spending, he said.

Of the five self-reported diverting states and seven states and territories that did not respond to the commission's inquiry (for a total of 12), two states (Illinois and Oklahoma) and one territory (Northern Mariana Islands) remedied filing errors to clarify that they are not diverters. One state (West Virginia) and one territory (Puerto Rico) are in the process of ending diversion within their borders, and one state (New Mexico) has ended its diversionary practices going forward.

A blog with further details is here.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Site Navigation