Rappaport, Garvey Among 2019 Wireless Hall of Fame Inductees
Monday, July 22, 2019 | Comments

The Wireless History Foundation (WHF) will induct six honorees into the Wireless Hall of Fame Oct. 23.

The inductees include Theodore S. Rappaport, an academic and entrepreneur who has founded academic wireless research centers at three universities — New York University (NYU), the University of Texas and Virginia Tech.

In addition, Lawrence D. Garvey, a pioneer in paging and two-way voice systems, was inducted posthumously. Garvey played a critical role in the fight that spanned more than a decade to convince the FCC to open cellular applications to radio common carriers, as well as landline telephone companies.

Android Founders Rich Miner, Andy Rubin, Nick Sears and Chris White also were inducted. The Android founders launched the task of building Android, a developer and mobile ecosystem friendly open source mobile operating system (OS), which is the OS on more than 2.5 billion active mobile devices worldwide.

“Our inductees this year are representative of the rapid change of technologic and business innovation that runs throughout the history of wireless,” said WHF board member Rob Mechaley, CEO of MobileSphere Holdings and chairman of the 2018 selection committee. “These new members are emblematic of a culture that seizes and builds upon the need for constant growth and innovation.”

The Wireless History Foundation is a nonprofit organization formed to preserve and promote the history of the wireless industry.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!


September 2021

27 - 30
International Wireless Communications Expo (IWCE) 2021
Las Vegas

October 2021

18 - 20
Colorado NENA/APCO 2021 Conference

November 2021

2 - 3
Wireless Leadership Summit (WLS)
Austin, Texas

3 - 5
Critical Communications World 2021
Madrid, Spain

More Events >

Site Navigation