RCA Announces 2019 Award Recipients
Monday, September 23, 2019 | Comments

The Radio Club of America (RCA) announced its 2019 award recipients and fellows who will be celebrated at RCA’s 110th Banquet and Awards presentation Nov. 23 in New York City.

Thomas Marzetta, Ph.D., will receive the Armstrong Medal for outstanding achievements and lasting contributions to the radio arts and sciences and wireless communications. The Fred M. Link Award will go to George R. Stoll for notable achievements in LMR communications.

PMC Associates will receive the RCA Special Recognition Award in recognition of dedicated service to RCA. The RCA Service Award goes to David Bart in recognition of dedicated service to the club.

The U.S. Navy Captain George P. McGinnis Memorial Award will go to CTM2 Michael Lee Heenan, (posthumously), in recognition of service and dedication to the advancement and preservation of U.S. Navy cryptology. Margaret Lyons will be awarded the Vivian A. Carr Award in recognition of an outstanding woman’s achievements in the wireless industry.

The Jay Kitchen Leadership Award will go to Jay Kitchen (posthumously) in recognition of achievement of a high level of success leading a wireless association. Frederick M. Baumgartner will receive the Lee de Forest Award for significant contributions to the advancement of radio communications. The Barry Goldwater Amateur Radio Award will go to Martin F. Jue for unique contributions to the field of amateur radio.

Dr. Henry Richter will receive the Lifetime Achievement for significant achievements and a major body of work that has advanced the art and science of wireless technology. The Frank A. Gunther Award will be awarded to Robert Strickland for dedication to the field of military communications.

The Alfred H. Grebe Award will be awarded to Bob Heil, for significant achievements and demonstrated excellence in the engineering and manufacturing of radio equipment. Chester “Barney” School Jr. will receive the RCA Presidents Award for service and dedication to the club. Barry Luke will receive the DeMello Award.

The 2019 RCA Fellows include Louis T. Fiore, Dana B. Hanford Jr., Don Root, Alan Spindel, Lee A. Ward and Holly Wayt.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Site Navigation