RCA Announces 2020 Award Recipients, Fellows
Tuesday, July 14, 2020 | Comments

The Radio Club of America (RCA) announced its 2020 award recipients and fellows who will be celebrated at RCA’s 111th banquet and awards presentation Nov. 20 in Pittsburgh.

The Barry Goldwater Award will be awarded to Bob Bruninga, WB4APR, for unique contributions to the field of amateur radio. Tokuzo Inoue, JA3FA, will receive the Edgar F. Johnson Pioneer Citation for noteworthy contributions to the success of the radio industry. The Jack Poppele Award will go to John Schadler for important and long-term contributions to the field of radio broadcasting. Michael T.N. Fitch, in recognition of achievement of a high level of success leading a wireless association, will receive the Jay Kitchen Leadership Award.

The Ralph Batcher Memorial Award will be awarded to Eric P. Wenaas, PhD, for significant work in preserving the history of radio and electronic communications. The RCA Presidents Award will go to Ron Jakubowski, K2RJ, for service and dedication to the Radio Club of America.

Ernie Blair, WA4BPS, will receive the RCA Special Services Award to recognize an RCA member who has performed significant work to advance the goals and objectives of the Radio Club of America. Emily Calandrelli, KD8PKR, will receive the Vivian Carr Award in recognition of an outstanding woman’s achievements in the wireless industry.

The Sarnoff Citation will go to Robert Rouleau, VE2P, and Norman Pearl, VE2BQS, for exceptional contributions of a technical or non-technical nature to the advancement of electronic communications. The U.S. Navy Captain George P. McGinnis Memorial Award will go to CTRCM John A. “Gus” Gustafson, USN (retired) for service and dedication to the advancement and preservation of U.S. Naval cryptology, as nominated by the U.S. Naval Cryptologic Veterans Association (NCVA).

2020 RCA fellows include Jim Bugel; Raymond L. Grimes, N8RG; Tracey M. Hilburn; Paul A. Scutieri; Alan S. Tilles; and David Witkowski, W6DTW.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Site Navigation