APCO Announces 2021 Leadership in Policy Award Winners
Friday, March 26, 2021 | Comments

The Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International announced the recipients of its 2021 Public Safety Communications Leadership in Policy Awards. The winners will be honored virtually this year during an online awards celebration taking place May 26.

The awards celebration commemorates leaders who have made outstanding contributions to public safety communications. The 2021 award winners are:
• Leadership in Advocacy Award: Captain Mel Maier, commander, Emergency Communications and Operations Division, Oakland County Sheriff’s Office in Pontiac, Michigan
• Leadership in Regulatory Service Award: Michael Dame, deputy associate administrator, Office of Public-Safety Communications, National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA)
• Leadership in Legislative Service Award: U.S. Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick, who represents Pennsylvania’s 1st Congressional District
• Leadership in Advancing Communications Policy Award (Posthumously): Robert “Bob” Bloom, former public-safety systems administrator, Department of Emergency and Customer Communications, Alexandria, Virginia

APCO will also recognize the 2020 award winners during the celebration. They are as follows:
• Leadership in Regulatory Service: John Evanoff, deputy division chief, Policy and Licensing Division, Public Safety and Homeland Security Bureau (PSHSB), FCC
• Leadership in Legislative Service: U.S. Rep. Frank Pallone, Jr., who represents New Jersey’s 6th Congressional District
• Leadership in Advocacy: Jeff Bratcher, chief network and technology officer, First Responder Network Authority (FirstNet Authority)
• Leadership in Advancing Communications Policy: Karima Holmes, former director of the Office of Unified Communications (OUC), Washington, D.C.

“It is a privilege to take this opportunity each year to recognize extraordinary leaders who have made a real difference in advancing public safety communications,” said APCO President Margie Moulin. “This ceremony is a unique opportunity to celebrate them and their significant contributions to improving public safety.”

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!


April 2021

22 - 22
Webinar: FirstNet — Managing Testing and Vaccination Logistics


June 2021

21 - 25
UTC Telecom and Technology Conference
Portland, Oregon

August 2021

15 - 18
APCO Conference and Expo
San Antonio, Texas

September 2021

27 - 30
International Wireless Communications Expo (IWCE) 2021
Las Vegas

More Events >

Site Navigation