FCC Names 17 Members to 9-1-1 Fee Diversion Strike Force
Friday, May 21, 2021 | Comments

Acting FCC Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel announced the appointment of 17 members to the commission’s recently created 9-1-1 strike force.

The strike force was created in February, following legislation passed at the end of last year that sought to eliminate diversion of 9-1-1 fees to other uses by states. The strike force will examine the issue and report to Congress on how to end fee diversion.

“America’s 9-1-1 system needs an update for the digital age,” said Rosenworcel. “But as we’ve seen, 9-1-1 fee diversion can shortchange public safety by delaying those updates. I am happy that the strike force will soon be getting to work on ideas that will help ensure that the fees that American consumers pay to support 9-1-1 will go to 9-1-1. Thank you to Kelli Merriweather for agreeing to lead this group, and welcome to all of the new 911 Strike Force members. I look forward to your work and your findings.”

Formally known as the Ending 9-1-1 Fee Diversion Now Strike Force, the 911 Strike Force was established pursuant to the Don’t Break Up the T-Band Act of 2020. The first public meeting will be held on June 3, and the strike force must publish its findings by September 23.

Find the full list of members here.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!


June 2021

21 - 25
UTC Telecom and Technology Conference
Portland, Oregon

August 2021

15 - 18
APCO Conference and Expo
San Antonio, Texas

September 2021

27 - 30
International Wireless Communications Expo (IWCE) 2021
Las Vegas

November 2021

3 - 5
Critical Communications World 2021
Madrid, Spain

More Events >

Site Navigation