PTIG Holds Annual Meeting, Announces New Board Members
Thursday, November 11, 2021 | Comments

The Project 25 (P25) Technology Interest Group (PTIG) held its annual meeting October 28 and elected its board of directors and slate of officers.

The meeting was presided over by Cindy Cast, the PTIG chair and radio systems manager at Miami Dade County in Florida; PTIG Executive Director Steve Nichols; and Cheryl Giggetts, PTIG treasurer and principal at CTA Consultants.

The new board of directors and officers include some returning members and a number of experienced new members from the P25 community.

The officers for the coming 2021-2022 year include: Chair Cast; Vice Chair Jim Holthaus, a contractor for the U.S. Department of Justice (USDOJ); Treasurer Giggetts; and Secretary Andy Davis of Motorola Solutions and chair of the Telecommunications Industry Association’s (TIA) TR-8 committee.

Incoming New PTIG Board Members include:
• Rick Schmahl, Multi-Agency Radio Communications System (MARCS) program director and statewide interoperability coordinator (SWIC), state of Ohio;
• Siralal Mallawa Arachchi, principal technical advisor, New Zealand Police;
• Nina Koshinski, chief, radio applications and networks, P25 system administrator and program manager, Pennsylvania State Police;
• Amy Lawrence, marketing program manager, Viavi Solutions;
• Michael Schafer, president, Compliance Testing;
• Nick Pennance, chief revenue officer, Tait Communications;
• Robert Kwapisz, LMR solutions manager, Zetron, a Codan company; and
• Rich Cagle, senior vice president of sales, JVCKENWOOD/EFJohnson.

Returning PTIG board members include:
• Brad Stoddard, state of Michigan;
• Brandon Diemer, Bureau of Land Management (BLM) National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC);
• John Richards, state of Maine;
• Scott Wright, state of Connecticut;
• Chris Maiers, state of Iowa;
• Justin Evans, Montgomery County, Texas;
• Mark Ketchum, city of Broken Arrow, Oklahoma;
• Sonia Kendall, U.S. Coast Guard;
• Eddie Reyes, Prince William County, Virginia;
• Doug Chapman, Etherstack;
• Robin Grier, Catalyst;
• Dominick Arcuri, Televate; and
• Jeremy Elder, L3Harris.

A number of PTIG Board Members retired this year including Chairman Emeritus Del Smith, Neil Horden, George Crouch, Eric Davies, Christie Bielby and Karthik Rangarajan.

Nichols was elected to continue as PTIG executive director for the coming year. The PTIG meets via web Microsoft Teams meetings on the fourth Thursday of each month at 3:30 PM ET. Those interested in becoming members can contact Nichols at

The PTIG is a group of individuals and organizations who share the mutual interest of advancing the refinement, development, deployment and applications of the digital communications technology represented by P25 industry standards.

PTIG members include two-way radio communications experts, public-safety professionals and equipment manufacturers. The members recognize the need for, and have a direct stake in, the continued development of the critical communications capabilities represented in the P25 standards.

Would you like to comment on this story? Find our comments system below.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!


November 2022

8 - 10
Communications Marketing Conference (CMC)
Albuquerque, New Mexico

March 2023

27 - 30
International Wireless Communications Expo (IWCE) 2023
Las Vegas

More Events >

Site Navigation