Hings Named to Canadas Telecom Hall of Fame (9/13)
Wednesday, September 13, 2006 | Comments
Canada's Telecommunications Hall of Fame named six telecom pioneers and industry leaders who will be officially inducted into the Hall of Fame for 2006. The 2006 Telecom Hall of Fame Laureates are Donald L. Hings, inventor of the walkie-talkie; Edward S. "Ted" Rogers; Edward S. Rogers Sr.; Leila Wightman; Francis Dagger; and Ernest E. "Ernie" Saunders. Nor can we overlook the scientific genius of Donald Hings", said David Colville, chair of the selections committee. "His modifications of the two-way radio, a device of his own creation, which he evolved into the world's first functional and operational walkie-talkie, saved the lives of thousands of British, Canadian, and American troops during the Second World War and helped to usher modern telecommunications technologies into the military".

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Magazines in Print

August 2020

31 - 9/4
UTC Telecom & Technology
Virtual Conference and Expo

September 2020

9 - 10
Comms Connect New Zealand
Wellington, New Zealand

21 - 21
NENA Conference and Expo
Virtual Conference and Expo

November 2020

3 - 5
Critical Communications World (CCW)
Madrid, Spain

More Events >

Site Navigation