14 Interoperability Board Members Appointed by FCC (3/22/12)
Thursday, March 22, 2012 | Comments

FCC Chairman Julius Genachowski appointed the 14 people to serve on the Technical Advisory Board for First Responder Interoperability recently established under the Middle Class Tax Relief and Job Creation Act of 2012.

The following individuals will serve on the board:

• Steve Proctor, executive director, Utah Communications Agency Network (UCAN)

• Col. Kenneth C. Hughes Jr., regional communications coordinator, New Orleans Urban Area Security Initiative (UASI)

• Brian Shepherd, deputy director, Adams County (Colo.) Communications Center

• Todd Bianchi, firefighter paramedic, Washington D.C. Fire and EMS Department

• Jim Kohler, deputy director, enterprise technology services, Alaska Department of Administration

• Brenda L. Decker, chief information officer, state of Nebraska

• Charles L. K. Robinson, director, business support services, city of Charlotte, N.C.

• Bob Azzi, senior vice president, network, Sprint Nextel

• Diane C. Wesche, director, government network and technology, Verizon Wireless

• Ed Chao, senior vice president, corporate engineering and network operations, MetroPCS Communications

• Ron Strecker, CEO, Panhandle Telephone Cooperative and Panhandle Telecommunications Systems

• Kenneth C. Budka, senior director, advanced mission-critical communications, Bell Labs Chief Technology Office, Alcatel-Lucent

• Dennis Martinez, chief technology officer (CTO), RF Communications Division, Harris

• Paul Steinberg, senior vice president and CTO, Motorola Solutions

The National Telecommunications and Information Administration (NTIA) selected Dereck Orr of the National Institute of Standards Technology (NIST) to serve as the interoperability board’s 15th, non-voting member.

The legislation charges the board to work with federal partners to develop “recommended minimum technical requirements to ensure a nationwide level of interoperability for the nationwide public-safety broadband network.” The board must submit the recommendations to the FCC within 90 days of the date the act was enacted, May 22.

Under the legislation, of the 14 members appointed, the FCC was directed to appoint four representatives of wireless carriers, three members of equipment manufacturers and four members of public-safety entities. Members are appointed for the life of the board. A chair and vice chair will be selected by the board, which will operate through a quorum or majority of the members.

Your comments are welcome, click here.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Site Navigation