MCC Advisors Named to Spectrum Committee (11/3)
Friday, November 03, 2006 | Comments

The Commerce Department appointed a group of representatives from the private sector for a two-year term to an advisory committee on radio frequency spectrum. Two editorial advisors to MissionCritical Communications magazine, Mark Crosby, president of the Enterprise Wireless Alliance (EWA), and Dr. Dale Hatfield, independent consultant and adjunct professor in the interdisciplinary telecommunications program at the University of Colorado, will serve on the committee. "Our new spectrum advisory committee will help us in developing wise radio frequency policies that will promote new technologies, expand consumer choices, and enhance first-responder capabilities, " said Commerce Secretary Carlos Gutierrez. The Commerce Spectrum Advisory Committee is part of the president's Spectrum Policy Initiative. 


The committee will report to John Kneuer, Commerce acting assistant secretary for communications and information, who will appoint a chair at the first meeting. Other committee members include:


¥ Dr. David Borth, corporate vice president and chief technical officer at Motorola; 


¥ Martin Cooper, chairman and co-founder of ArrayComm;


¥ James Goldstein, director of spectrum reconfiguration for Sprint Nextel;


¥ Alexander H. Good, vice chairman and chief executive officer of Mobile Satellite Ventures;


¥ Robert M. Gurss, director of legal and government affairs for the Association of Public-Safety Communications Officials (APCO) International;


¥ Dr. Kevin Kahn, senior fellow at Intel;


¥ Hilda Legg, consultant for Legg Strategies;


¥ James Lewis, senior fellow and director of technology and public policy program for the Center for Strategic and International Studies;


¥ Dr. Mark McHenry, president of Shared Spectrum;


Darrin M. Mylet, vice president of wireless services for Cantor Fitzgerald;


¥ Ambassador Janice Obuchowski, president of Freedom Technologies;


¥ Dr. Robert Pepper, senior managing director of Cisco Systems;


¥ R. Gerard Salemme, executive vice president and director of Clearwire;


¥ Bryan N. Tramont, partner at Wilkinson, Barker, Knauer;


¥ Mark Tucker, chief executive officer of CoCo Communications; and


Jennifer Warren, senior director of trade and regulatory affairs at Lockheed Martin.

Post a comment
Name: *
Email: *
Title: *
Comment: *


No Comments Submitted Yet

Be the first by using the form above to submit a comment!

Magazines in Print

August 2020

2 - 5
APCO Conference and Expo

11 - 13
ENTELEC Conference and Expo

31 - 9/4
UTC Telecom & Technology
Virtual Conference and Expo

September 2020

9 - 10
Comms Connect New Zealand
Wellington, New Zealand

More Events >

Site Navigation